Glaucoma Fellowship

Program Description

The Department of Ophthalmology at UPMC is a nationwide technology leader and has a long track record of developing and implementing new devices, techniques and software, especially in Glaucoma. Diagnosis and treatment decisions are increasingly technology and data-analysis driven, in the area of glaucoma, exceeding and supplementing the abilities of an unaided human observer. You will have the unique opportunity to master these new tools already before they become available on a larger scale. This allows you to efficiently pursue research projects during your fellowship with us.

The tradition of UPMC's Glaucoma Service - to improve patient care by spearheading clinical and surgical technologies while also performing translational science - is continued under the leadership of the Glaucoma Fellowship Director, Ian Conner, MD, PhD who is also the Director of the Glaucoma and Anterior Segment Surgery.

As our Glaucoma Fellow, you will become an active member of the Glaucoma Service, working closely with all full-time clinical glaucoma faculty — Ian Conner, MD, PhD, Julia Polat, MD, Tarek Shazly, MD and John Swogger, DO — and the Glaucoma Resident in the clinical and surgical care of our glaucoma patients. The Clinical Glaucoma Fellowship at UPMC is a one-year program, usually beginning in July.

Program Director

Ian Conner, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology
Director, Glaucoma and Anterior Segment Surgery Service
Director, Glaucoma Fellowship Program


Teaching Faculty

Julia Polat, MD
Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology

Tarek Shazly, MD
Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology

John Swogger, DO
Clinical Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology

Andrew M. Williams, MD
Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology


Application Procedures

How to Apply

To apply for a Clinical Glaucoma Fellowship at UPMC, or to learn more about the Program, contact Siobahn Gallagher at or (412) 647-2256. All applications are handled through the Glaucoma Fellowship Match. Our program is in full compliance with the high standards set forth by the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology Fellowship Compliance Committee (AUPO FCC).

Contact Information

Siobahn Gallagher
Academic Program Manager
Eye & Ear Institute
203 Lothrop Street, Rm, 821.1
Pittsburgh, PA 15213


Current and Former Fellows


Thomas Berk, MD FRCSC

Shelley Mo, MD



Sarah Ullah, MD – Residency at Pennsylvania State University, Hershey, PA
Emily Hughes, MD – Residency at Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital, Dublin, Ireland

Tigran Kostanyan, MD – Private Practice, Las Vegas, NV
David Rooney, MD – International Ophthalmology Fellowship, Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Joel Palko, MD – West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV
Tuan Nguyen, MD – University of Texas Health, San Antonio, TX

Andrew Siegel, MD – Eye Physicians of Virginia, Reston, VA
Robert Null, MD -  Discover Vision Centers, Kansas City, MO

Edward Chay, MD – Shefkind Eye Care, Alexandria, VA
Kate Fallano, MD – Glaucoma Consultants, Baltimore, MD

Manik Goel, MD – Marshall University, Huntington, WV

Julia Polat, MD – UPMC
Eric Brown, MD – Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN

Evan Lagouros, MD – Illinois Eye Center, Peoria, IL

Rachel Davis, MD – University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM

Ian Conner, MD – UPMC
Jeremy Wingard, MD – Wheaton Eye Clinic, Wheaton, IL

Kimberly Miller, MD – Brown University, Providence, RI